veterans day parade

{sitting on the sidewalk, guarding my mom’s purse}

For veteran’s day my mom and I went to our local parade. It was wonderful, to say the least. Except for the fact that it was cold and windy and that it was raining like heck (you see the rain drops on the purse? that was when it just started to rain). But then, eventually, it stopped raining, and we only felt that our fingers and toesies would freeze to death.

Our veterans fought so that we might be free. So that we might be free. They fought so we don’t have to. Their strength and their sacrifice are the reason why America is the land of the free and home of the brave. They gave up the small daily comforts that we have, and sometimes even their lives, for the sake of our families, our homes, and our country. Pericles once said, “What [they] leave behind isn’t what is written in stone monuments, but what [they] have woven into the lives of others.” We need to remember and appreciate all that they have done for us. Freedom isn’t free.

I took pictures of the sidewalk and the leaves and, yes, lo and behold, my pants (don’t ask why) as we waited for the parade to start.

There were leaves EVERYWHERE and tons of people too. Almost all of the women that you saw were either holding a baby or holding a camera.

And, unfortunately, this is all the pictures I took, because either I was clapping or waving or jumping up and down when I saw my friend in the parade.

I think I scared her. Or embarrassed her. Or, rather, I think I embarrassed everyone who saw me.

And then later I ran in the middle of the road like a maniac to get a piece of candy.

Oh, and then, guess what? The candy was all crumbled and nasty from people and horses stepping all over it.

The embarrassment never ends.

But the day got even better.

A lot of people in the parade who were passing out candy weren’t sure if they should give any to me because they couldn’t tell if I was a grown-up or a kid.

Awkwardness. So I only got two pieces of candy and that was from my poor, frightened friend.

But later we went to lunch at the awesomest Greek restaurant in town, and I ordered a lamb salad. Yum!

And then, to cope with my awkward woes of the day, my mom and I split a snickers bar. That made me feel better.

So what did you do for Veteran’s Day?

 

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

