the best salsa (by far) you will EVER have

I’ve never really liked any kind of spicy food. You name it. Spaghetti. Enchiladas. Tacos. Burritos. Even salsa. Even black pepper (yeah, I’m kinda a wimp like that). *gasp* I know. Salsa, especially ones at Mexican restaurants, have always left me chugging down my ice water as fast as is humanly fathomable because I Simply. Can’t. Take. It.

I don’t know, but there’s just always been something about spicy that is *so* repulsive to me. Although it could’ve had to do with that time my friend told me to eat a pepper, saying that it wasn’t hot, but actually, in fact, sweet, like bell peppers. Naturally believing her, I tried it.

Let’s just say she thought it would be funny, and I ended up shrieking super loud, and hyperventilating like nobody’s business, and, eventually, spitting it out.

Ahem.

Thus I give you this recipe. To prevent you from heart break and heart burn.

And you know, another thing. This time of year, I don’t know about you, but I don’t eat as many fresh fruits and veggies as I should. So this salsa will be like a kiss of summer in the middle of your winter. A little healthy kick for your immune system! With no sugar. Just whole foods. Nothing complicated. In fact, if you happen to be–unlike me :)– a veggie person, or have a pretty snazzy garden, you probably already have all the ingredients on hand.

This garden-esque salsa…is SO good, it will satisfy both your sweet and spicy longings (without either one being over-powering). And, possibly, it may just knock your socks off (in a good way). πŸ™‚

granny smith apple salsa

6-8 servings

cast of characters

– 1 large tomato, cored and finely chopped

– 3/4 cup finely chopped sweet onion (I usually use red onion)

– 3 tbs freshly squeezed lime juice

– 1 large jalapeno chile, cored, seeded, and finely chopped

– 2 granny smith apples (the stars of the show)

– 1 bunch of cilantro, chopped fine

– 1 tbsp raw honey

– 2 cloves minces garlic

– salt & pepper to taste

the script

1) stir together tomato, onion, lime juice, and jalapeno in medium bowl

2) quarter and core apples and dice up fine

3) stir apples into mixture with cilantro, honey, and salt & pepper

4) refrigerate for up to 6 hrs before serving

5) be sure to let me know how you like it! πŸ˜€

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

