beauty & fitness pt 2

tulip-ballerina

Before I start giving recipes, or exercises, or beauty tips, and before we move on, I want to make *one* thing clear.

There will always be the deceiving lies media shove down our throats, those “I’m not good enough”, “I’m not pretty enough”, or “I’m too fat”, because of those toothpick-thin expectations of Hollywood.

It kills us, because we want to be beautiful, desirable even. But you don’t have to be skinny to be beautiful. You don’t have to be fit to be desirable. Our beauty comes from a deep, abiding love & passion for the Lord (Prov. 31:30).

God loves you *so* much, and you are fearfully and wonderfully made, and NOTHING, no mirror, no magazine article, no number on the scale can EVER change that.

Ever.

Now, I’m *not* saying that it’s wrong to eat well or exercise or to lose weight. Within themselves. In fact, I think it’s important to strive to be healthy. However, if you’re doing it to gain the approval of the world … then there’s a problem. If you’re doing it to impress your friends,  I just wanna let you know, that if they really were your friends, you wouldn’t *have* to impress them. Your friends would already accept you for who you are, not for how thin you are. And if they don’t…that’s their problem, not yours.

We both need to see ourselves how God sees us, not how man sees us.

Are you with me? 🙂

~*~ ~*~ ~*~

Health is very important, especially for women. We cook, clean, make babies, grocery-shop, raise children, and are helpmeets to our husbands & fathers. We have a lot on our plate. 🙂

I believe that God has given us everything that we need to feel our best so we can do our best at these things, and be able to put all of our strength into what He has called us to do.

“She girds herself with strength,
And strengthens her arms.”

~ Proverbs 31:17

I don’t think that what we look like on the outside is more important than who we are on the inside, but I don’t think that’s an excuse to not take care of ourselves. I think it’s beautiful when a girl neither becomes obsessive about her health nor neglectful of her health, but rather when she’s in the middle: balanced. When she’s happy with who God made her and how God made her (whether she has a bigger forehead than most girls, or if she’s short, or has bigger thighs, or anything), but takes care of herself by eating healthy and exercising when she can, and doesn’t talk negatively about how she looks to others or to herself. Ever. (Which I know is not easy to do!)

We do, of course, need to eat healthy on a day-to-day basis. We need to strive to honour our bodies, which are temples of God.

Do we want a body that is sick and tired and lacks in the energy to do the things God has called us to do in this life?

I don’t know about you, but I don’t! If you really think about it, we could accomplish so much!

And yes, there are times to decline an unhealthy choice to make a more healthy choice. I’m still working on how to balance that. I’m not perfect at it. But I want to be able to feel my best. A big reason I’ve chosen this lifestyle is so … I can be the best me I can be, and be able to do the things which God has called me to do. 😀

And, yes, I do realize that this journey is not an easy one. But, as I like to say about a lot of things …

I don’t need easy. I just need possible.

2 thoughts on “beauty & fitness pt 2

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

