to surrender a precious dream…

aa715d36e43a32df6a95d5fa486d2010

“Surrendering a precious dream is a fearful thing,

but to pursue anything but the full measure of the glory of God’s love

is a wasted life.”

~ Joshua Stephen Eddy

This is in loving memory and honor of Joshua Eddy, a godly man, a warrior in the faith, who surrendered his precious dream, and left behind a legacy & an example to follow.

Joshua Steven Eddy
 March 5th, 1993 – May 5th, 2012
524164_425212454163649_804172244_n
Here is what Raquel said in her post about him :

” The last blog post Josh wrote on his blog was one entitled ‘To Surrender a Precious Dream’.  I have read it numerous times…when I first found his blog, when I first heard the news of his drowning, when they found his body, and just a couple days ago, when I stumbled upon it again…it was by accident really, but I’m pretty sure God made it happen on purpose. 

179724_430749966943231_785634477_n

In his post, Josh wrote about how overwhelmed he was with the beauty of a sunset he witnessed on the evening he took his brother and sister-in-law’s engagement pictures.  He says how much he wanted to share that moment with ‘his love’.  How he wanted to ‘pull her close and enjoy this beauty with her’.  But alas, she was not by his side.  He did not have ‘his love’ with him.  He wasn’t even sure he had met her yet.  Who was this woman that would have been Josh’s girl?  We will never know…because God didn’t write that in Josh’s story.

In the closing of his post, he said something that has become his, perhaps, most memorable quote.  And honestly, one of my favorites of all time.

‘To surrender a precious dream is a fearful thing, but to pursue anything but the full measure of the glory of God’s love is a wasted life.’

Josh has challenged me to surrender my precious dream…”

I read his post after I had heard of it from her post first…

and, as tears welled in my eyes, I prayed to God to surrender my precious dreams to Him.

Here is another link to his post here. Please read. And then also read a post he wrote in April 2012, “To Die Well…” And grab some tissues.

A great thing to ponder this week.

2 thoughts on “to surrender a precious dream…

  1. Rachel,
    Thank you so much for this post. My name is Mariah – I’m Joshua’s younger sister. It is always such a blessing to read posts about him – to hear how his life and death has impacted people. Josh was so far from perfect, but he lived for God, and that’s what matters.
    Keep writing and living for Christ! 🙂

    God bless,

    ~Riah

    • Hello Riah,
      Joshua’s story has been such a blessing to me over this past year, and I felt a need to share that with other people 🙂

      Thank you and God bless!

      Rachel

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

