but you know, brown is beautiful, too …

{by the sweet Miss Iris :)}
{http://www.iris-hanlin.com/2013/10/lessons-in-autumn.html}
“Cool, fragrant breeze.  Goldish, red hue cast over the earth.  The soft crunching of the fallen leaves as I shuffle slowly through them.  Cool days, perfect nights.  The world getting ready to fall asleep.  Autumn.  I breathe deeply,  and again I am amazed at the beauty by which I find myself surrounded.  And I count my blessings.  It’s not hard to do, when everything around me sings loudly in its silence the glory of God.  Autumn is by far my favorite time of the year… especially that period of waiting before all the colors pop in the leaves.


It reminds me of life, actually…  and that period of waiting before we discover our full purpose in this life, before the glory it can bring to the world has been revealed.  It’s a reminder for me to “be still before the Lord, and wait patiently for Him” to show me His plan for my life, however long that takes.  It’s not easy.  Sometimes I am incredibly impatient for my “colors to pop” ~ to see where I end up and if I will end up doing anything important.  But, I have to wait…  I have to be patient.  Because God’s time is not my time, and his ways are certainly not my ways.  But someday, I’ll understand where I am in the grand scheme of things, and why things happen when they happen to the people they happen to, and why it took “so long” for those colors to pop, even if they end up being only unimportant shades of brown.

But you know, brown is beautiful, too.”

662edbd5d67fdaf15adc27c71664b80d
2 thoughts on “but you know, brown is beautiful, too …

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

