a life, forever changed

“Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight.

Extend to them all the care, the kindness, and understanding you can muster,

and do it with no thought of any reward.

Your life will never be the same again.”

{by og mandino}

I’m awestruck.

Awestruck at how selfish I’ve been, I’ve become. Why do I always think of myself?

When I stumbled over this quote a few days earlier, you could easily call it chance. Destiny. Fate, even.

But no. It can’t be. This is Providence.

I sat there, in stunned silence. Where has this been all my life? Why haven’t I learned this already? This outward-focus, this having the Christ-like love & joy bubble over, my cup overflowing, so contagious, spreading grace and wonder and awe of a merciful, loving God to those around me? Why? Why hasn’t it hit me before?

Just in the past few days, my perspective has changed. So many things can happen in a moment. Cars crash. Hearts stop. Disease. Sickness. Loved ones are called home. Why waste time, focusing on myself, and my problems, when I could be a light to someone who needs Him? In this dark and fallen world?

 Yes. I am determined for this to be the heart beat of my walk through life. These penned words, etched deep, in my psyche. My life, and hopefully others’, forever changed.

2 thoughts on “a life, forever changed

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

