why i stopped trying to fit in, and why you should too

In 10th grade, this was my biggest goal in life. I did everything I knew how to, in order to be cool enough. I wore the right pants. I styled my hair. I made sure I always smelled like I stepped out of a Bath & Body Works store, and, I exercised like my life depended on it, making sure the number on the scale was as low as I could possibly make it.

It was a lot of work, trying to keep up with all of this in order to look good to my peers.

faee8fae0ce2e9a6fddda3573f621d6f

Our identity is found in Christ alone, we’re NOT defined by other people’s expectations or accusations. We as Christians are children of the Most High God, given grace, love, worth, and an inheritance that can never be taken away.

So why should I be afraid when someone thinks I’m too “weird” or “boring”, or even if I’m accused of thinking or doing something I had no part of?

{read the rest here!}

9 thoughts on “why i stopped trying to fit in, and why you should too

  1. You probably don’t care what I think and I’m not disagreeing with you … Of course our identity is found in Christ as a child of God, but you also have to think about what you are in-light of that fact. Then, go and be what you are, for the glory of God. You can look good to everyone else and fit in, there is nothing wrong with anyone that tries to do that as long as they are always define themselves as a Child of God over all. You can even by “fitting in” bring glory to God as long as you don’t compromise your standing in the Lord.

    • I’m not contradicting what you’re saying. I’m just trying to make the point that most people kill themselves (figuratively speaking) to try to fit in & look good to other people when, really, that’s not the “end-all”. You’re right: there’s nothing wrong with fitting in within itself (as long as you aren’t fitting in because you’re doing something sinful/bad) — but it’s not what man’s purpose is. He shouldn’t make it his top priority over God. ” You can even by ‘fitting in’ bring glory to God as long as you don’t compromise your standing in the Lord. ” <– Very true statement. I am just nailing the issue that I (personally) had made it an idol in my life, and I know others have, too. Just trying to reach out to those who are/were in the same boat as I.

      • Ok … seems we were arguing different points … sorry about that … anyways you are a great writer (like you’ve never heard that before… lol) oh well … good year to you 🙂

    • Thank you! Yes, it’s *so* easy to want to fit in. I think it’s part of our human nature. But there’s a great sense of freedom when you don’t care what others think!

  2. Great post Rachel! I have one thought to add, so many teenagers think that they will be content and happy once they fit in. But that’s not true at all. When we depend on what other people think, we will only be miserable. We’ll only be truly happy believe that we are who God says we are; important, beautiful, worth dying for.

  3. I love this post! Beautiful Rachelle! 🙂 You are right, Jesus loves us for who we are and He accepted us. That’s all we need. ❤

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

