lead me to the rock

5e37ba899cfef9878c0a6d9ddc6e5fceGod works in mysterious ways.

I had goals. For today, this week, this summer — I knew what I was going to do, and I was going to do it. People asked me, “So what are you going to do this summer?”, and I could easily list off several things. I was going to learn this and do that and read this and get that done. I was going to go on adventures, tackle big projects at home, become stronger and fitter.

But what I didn’t have on the list was … a fractured foot.

That put a skew in things.

And now my job is to sit around and do pretty much absolutely NOTHING. Nothing.

Yes, it could be worse, but I have so much to do I have this and that piling up everywhere that need to get done and I don’t have time to just do whatever and be a lazy bum and I need to accomplish enough things and climb mountains and perform miracles and actually do something with my life and I know I’m whining but please I just really, really, really need to get this stuff done and ….

But I’m slowly realizing, as hard as it is to admit, that maybe this is good for me. Maybe this is just God’s way of telling me to   s  l  o  w    i  t    d  o  w  n    and just rest. I have a tendency to place my value and my worth in my usefulness, my accomplishments, how much I get done in a given day. I have a mental checklist where I *have* to get a certain number of things done in order to … be worth anything. Over the school year, I have gotten so caught up in the to-do lists, the daily grind, the pushing, the semester grades, the 2 a.m. studying, the getting everything done, I’m losing sight of what’s important: finding my rest and worth in Christ, not in my works. Not in what I can do, or how much I can do, or how hard I can push myself to the breaking point. He is my strength when I am weak. Sometimes I feel like I shouldn’t need anyone, or depend on another person at the cost of inconveniencing them. But I do. I do need someone. I do need people. And I need Christ.

I see now my mistake. And I need no longer to rely on my own strength. Because from where does my help come?

c796f469e6009693642f869b7fd979ab

20 thoughts on “lead me to the rock

  1. Wonderful to hear from you, Rachel! 😀 I love this. ❤ You write such beautiful, soul-refreshing posts. The way God teaches us is so often quite unexpected, isn't it? 😉

    • Hello, Madison! It’s good to be back 🙂 For the next little while I have all the time in the world to just write! So that’s nice. 🙂
      I cannot thank you enough for your sweet encouragement and your thoughtful comments. They mean so much to me 🙂 How have you been?
      And, YES, it certainly is!

      • Haha, yes you do! I really need to write something for my blog 😛 I just got back from a Christian camp, so I should have plenty of material to choose from! 😉
        I’ve been doing well! Like I said, I just got back from camp and it was AMAZING. Such a wonderful week full of truth and God’s voice. Other than your foot, how have you been? 🙂

      • Wow! Sounds like it was a blast! 😀
        I’ve been doing well 🙂 Reading,writing, crocheting, binge-watching Jane Austen movies …it’s been good, haha 🙂

  2. So, so amazing to hear from you. I’m sorry about your foot, I hope you’re up and going super soon…but I understand that yeah, God probably is telling you something. 😉 Love ya, sweet girl!!!

  3. Oh Rachel–I am so so sorry to hear about your foot…crummy timing not that any time would be good but at the start of summer seems extra bad. REST is good grab some good books and keep your foot up I will pray that God will give you a restful peace to your soul and that you will delight in having lots and lots of quite moments with our Savior…..Bless you Love you

  4. Your not alone in this. I am EXTREMELY guilty of this too. I do this constantly, on a day-to-day basis. If I can’t get this lift, do ‘X’ amount of pull ups, or do ACTUAL pull ups for that matter. I am very, very sorry about your foot! I pray that God will (hopefully) heal it quickly and give you hope and patience! Goodness, that would be irritating!! This article is very humbling and eye-opening, thanks for sharing!

      • Ack! Slowly but surely :/ Putting a lot of ice on it to keep the swelling down. My foot feels like it’s frozen solid, it hurts o_O But hopefully it’s making a difference. Thank you for asking! 🙂

  5. Fantastic post, Rachel! So sorry to hear about your foot 😦 God tends to teach me things in similar ways. Something comes and “ruins” my day or week and God says “slow down, girly. I need you to learn this lesson.” *sigh* He’s so good and faithful! Again, great post! Oh, and I’ve been a complete failure at blogging the last few months so don’t feel bad about taking a break once in a while 🙂 God bless!!

  6. Sorry to hear about your foot. Your post reminded me of this story though:
    Luke 10:38-42New International Version (NIV)

    At the Home of Martha and Mary
    38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39 She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40 But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!”

    41 “Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42 but few things are needed—or indeed only one.[a] Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

    Sometimes God just needs to slow us down to listen to Him. 🙂

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

