choose to live.

b325001b0b851e71d8fc2b4a4cccbdbb

We always talk about how we’ll “wait” for our future husbands. We write articles, blog posts, even entire books on this subject. We make promises, commitments, vows.

But you know what? I’m not waiting.

Yes, I am saving myself physically for my future husband, and am committed to staying pure, but I am not waiting for my life to start until I find Mr. Right. My life is now.

I choose to live. To do. To work. To serve. To pray. To study. To impact people. To go on adventures. Make phone calls. Drink coffee. Play with kids. To live where the quiet things are. Read lots of good books. Try new things. Pursue beauty. Be messy. Do hard things. Stand up for the weak. Write out my heart. Find freedom and grace in Christ. To walk with Him, footprints in the sand, caressing these precious moments I will never have back. Heart beats strong, lungs breathe deep, and I plunge into the waters of life. I will laugh. Cry. Fail. Succeed. Right here. Right now. I choose to embrace my life as it is, fulfill my calling, to live all out for the glory of God, because life is either a great adventure, or nothing.

This is my purpose. This is what I was meant for. This is the meaning of life.

 

a07ba5a3f41e4553c4ae3cb32a65c5bd

8 thoughts on “choose to live.

  1. Hello Rachel,
    What wonderful and profound thoughts.
    Makes me think of the words of my pecious husband who says, ” I don’t want to get caught not livin when I die.”
    This is often in reference to a double scoop of chocolate and peanut butter ice cream, fishing in the rain on the North Umpqua or reading The Three Pigs with a mess of grandkids crowded on his lap. But I think basically that’s what I hear you saying and I love it! 🌺

  2. Amen sista! This is something I’ve been pondering as well. I don’t want to waste the life I have now, wishing I were in a different situation! The season of life that I am in NOW is a gift from God, and I want to be content and make the most of it. I want to be ALL THERE, with eyes to see all that God has for me in the moment.
    Beautiful post!

    -Maddie

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)

