run 3 miles in 15(ish) days

cfb30bab4ef9a630f814cd30828f903f

{photo credit unknown}

This is a program I’ve been using, and it’s great! I’ve only been able to do this 3-4 days a week so it’ll take me a *wee* bit longer.

Care to join me? 🙂 I know it may not be much, but it’s a start (for me, at least)!

(And, if you want to start out slower, look at the other part of this program 3 miles in 30 days)

day 1-4

– walk for three minutes, then jog for six minutes

– walk for three minutes, then jog for four minutes

– walk for two minutes, then jog for three minutes

– walk for two minutes, then jog for three minutes

– walk for one minute, then jog for one minute

– walk for two minute cool down

day 5-8

– walk for three minutes, then jog for eight minutes

– walk for three minutes, then jog for six minutes

– walk for three minutes, then SPRINT for 15 seconds

– walk for two minutes, then SPRINT for 15 seconds

– walk for two minutes, then SPRINT for 10 seconds

– walk for two minute cool down

day 9-11

– walk for two minutes, then jog for ten minutes

– walk for two minutes, then jog for eight minutes

– walk for one minutes, then jog for two minutes

– walk for one minute, then jog for one minute

– walk for two minutes cool down

day 12 & 13

– walk for one minute, then jog for sixteen minutes

– walk for two minutes, then jog for ten minutes

– walk for as long as you need for cool down

day 14 & 15

– walk for one minute, then jog for twenty minutes

– walk for two minutes, then SPRINT for 15 seconds

– walk for one minute, then SPRINT for 15 seconds

– walk for one minute, then jog for three minutes

– walk for two minutes for cool down

day 16

Jog for 30 minutes straight at an easy pace. Do not over do it, just nice & easy.

day 17

Jog for 30 minutes again but pick up the pace and make it for time. At this point you should be able to do 3 miles in 30 minutes (roughly 10 minutes per mile).

2 thoughts on “run 3 miles in 15(ish) days

  1. Looks like a great way to start getting in shape!
    I just found your blog through the Rebelution and thought I’d check it out. Oh, I thought I’d let you know about a Google+ community that I’m a part of for Christian runners. It’s called Runners for Christ and has some great, encouraging posts as well as running tips and such. God bless and keep writing!

    • Why, howdy, Moriah! 🙂 I’ve noticed a big difference in my overall endurance and running skills with this program. It’s great. And, YES, I am interested in Runners for Christ! Thank you for the invite!

      Blessings,
      Rachel

your comments are a ray of sunshine:)